Saskatchewan
SaskPower
Route to power. Bring your own power. The Data Centre Framework of August 2026 requires a new proponent to supply its own power. Projects go through one provincial intake and are judged against six principles.
How you connect
SaskPower supplies most of the province and owns the transmission grid. A load of 5 MVA or more at 72 kV or higher goes through its six-stage load interconnection process. SaskPower’s posted processing times add up to about five months from a complete application to a costed assessment with a target in-service date. It publishes no figure past that.
The framework
Saskatchewan released its Data Centre Framework in August 2026. The six principles are Canadian ownership, Canadian data and AI sovereignty, Saskatchewan jobs and partnerships, industry experience, self-supplied power, and one provincial intake run by Crown Investments Corporation and the trade ministry.
The reason is the grid. SaskPower has about 6,200 MW of generating capacity and a yearly peak of about 3,800 MW, and the province’s position is that new AI load must not add pressure to it.
Your own power
Required for new projects. SaskPower holds the exclusive right to supply power in most of the province, so you cannot buy from an independent generator without its consent.
Latest
Bell’s first 300 MW in Regina comes from the grid and predates the framework. It is under construction, with the first stage expected in the first half of 2027. A further 900 MW, from partner-built gas generation, rests on a non-binding agreement signed on 14 September 2026. There is no published data centre rate.
What has happened
Projects we track
| Project | Status | Announced | Energized | Target online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bell AI Fabric Regina | Construction | 300 MW 900 MW on a non-binding MOU | Not stated | 2027-H1 |
| Valley View AI Data Centre, Moose Jaw | Not approved | 150 MW | Not stated | 2030 |
Announced is what the company has said it will build. Energized is what is drawing power today. This is the list of projects we follow, not every project in the province.
Updated 2026-09-23.