Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-02
Project North Light
Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. / Sturgeon County, AB (Alberta's Industrial Heartland)
Announced
360 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- Power path
- Grid
- Generation tech
- Not stated. The project cites existing high-voltage transmission in the Industrial Heartland and free-air cooling, but describes no generation arrangement.
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- Not stated
- Verification
- press
- Coordinate
- 53.75, -113.6 (region)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
ANNOUNCED BUT NOT FILED. 360 MW of planned capacity in Sturgeon County, presented as sovereign managed inference for government, universities and regulated industry. NO CONNECTION REQUEST FOUND. Checked against AESO’s Connection Project List for both June 2026 and July 2026: no entry is named North Light, and no Data Load entry in either edition carries a figure at or near 360 MW. The Fort Saskatchewan planning area contains only P2936 and P3151 (Greenlight/Meta) and P2934 (Beacon). This row therefore has announced capacity and no filed capacity. THE CAVEAT THAT MATTERS: AESO never names applicants, and 18 entries on the current list have no identifiable proponent. North Light could in principle be filed under a name that does not disclose it. What can be said is narrower and is what is said here: nothing on the list names it, and nothing on the list matches its stated size. EVIDENCE QUALITY IS LOW AND THE ROW SAYS SO. The only source is the project’s own website, which names no developer, no operator, no parent company, no partner, no date and no in-service target, and labels its own facility imagery “conceptual reference, facility in development”. The site carries Investor Materials and Request a Briefing calls to action. Status is capped at announced and cannot rise without a filing, a permit or independent reporting.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
Last verified 2026-08-02. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com