Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-16
Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1)
O'Leary Ventures / MD of Greenview No. 16, AB (Greenview Industrial Gateway, near Grande Prairie)
Announced
1.4 GW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- Power path
- Behind the fence
- Generation tech
- off-grid natural gas plus geothermal power system
- Utility
- Not stated
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2024-12-09
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 55.1731, -118.7986 (region)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- MEDIA RELEASE: World's Largest AI Data Centre Industrial Park 'Wonder Valley'
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) (Alberta Major Projects registry -- status confirmed 'Proposed' via live fetch)
- Wonder Valley Lags as Alberta Megaproject Falls Behind Schedule
- The Energy Mix — Second Wonder Valley emerges in Utah as Alberta project stalls (7.5 GW Utah project; Alberta project “only at the proposal stage” with “little progress after more than a year”)
- Deseret News — Kevin O'Leary's Utah data centre and the Alberta project (construction “is not expected to begin until 2028”)
Kevin O’Leary-backed; up to 58 buildings, $70B lifetime investment, 2,000-acre site. The proposed status and 1.4 GW Phase 1 figure both appear in the Alberta Major Projects registry. Sited near Grande Prairie within the Greenview Industrial Gateway. The schedule has slipped and the project has not advanced. As of February 2026 a Greenview municipal source described it as only at the proposal stage, with land finalisation, regulatory approvals and construction timelines still under development, and a second Wonder Valley of similar size, 7.5 GW, had been announced in Utah. Reporting in May 2026 put construction start at 2028, with permits still pending. The land purchase is not finalized and no AUC or AEPA permits have been filed.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
- Project North Light Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. · 360 MW · Announced
Last verified 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com