Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-16
Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere
Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) / Chestermere, AB
In queue
400 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- 2025-02-25 Announced
- 2025-02-26 Filed with the operator 400 MW filed
- No date In service the operator has set no date
- Power path
- Grid
- Generation tech
- Not stated
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- P3107 Chestermere Enterprise A.I. Load (AESO, Calgary planning area, 400 MW DTS, ISD Under Review, applied 2025-02-26)
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2025-02-25
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 51.0501, -113.8225 (town)
Filed with the system operator
What this project has on file with AESO, which is a different act from announcing it. Transcribed from AESO's published connection list.
| Reference | Stage | Filed | In service | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P3107 | [object Object] | 400 MW | No date | ISD Under Review |
One entry totalling 400 MW filed, against 400 MW announced. Why those two figures differ.
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Beacon Data Centre (City of Chestermere project page)
- Over 300 permanent jobs promised for proposed AI data centre in Chestermere
- AESO Connection Project List, July 2026 (P3107 Chestermere Enterprise A.I. Load, 400 MW, applied 2025-02-26)
$4B investment presented to Chestermere council on 25 February 2025. AESO’s Connection Project List carries P3107 Chestermere Enterprise A.I. Load at 400 MW DTS in the Calgary planning area, applied 2025-02-26, one day after the council presentation and matching the capacity exactly. AESO does not name the applicant; the identification rests on that match of capacity, timing and location against the council record. Other Beacon AI Centers records tracked here: the Indus AI Hub and its thermal power plant at AUC Proceeding 30524, the Heartland thermal power plant at AUC Proceeding 30518, and the Saint John (Lorneville) project in New Brunswick.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Project North Light Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. · 360 MW · Announced
Last verified 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com