Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-01
Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County)
Meta Platforms Inc. / Sturgeon County (Alberta's Industrial Heartland), AB
In queue
970 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- 2024-05-14 Filed with the operator 1,800 MW filed
- 2026-07-08 Announced
- 2027-05-01 In service
- Power path
- Hybrid
- Generation tech
- grid supply (AESO Phase 1 large-load allocation) plus adjacent natural gas generation (Greenlight Electricity Centre; Capital Power 250MW supply agreement)
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- P2936 GLDC Load Phase 1.1 (AESO, Fort Saskatchewan planning area, 970 MW DTS, Active, first grid date 2027-05-01); P3151 GLDC Load Phase 1.2 (830 MW DTS, ISD Under Review)
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2026-07-08
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 53.75, -113.6 (region)
Filed with the system operator
What this project has on file with AESO, which is a different act from announcing it. Transcribed from AESO's published connection list.
| Reference | Stage | Filed | In service | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P2936 | [object Object][object Object] | 970 MW | 2027-05-01 | Active |
| P3151 | [object Object] | 830 MW | No date | ISD Under Review |
2 entries totalling 1,800 MW filed, against 970 MW announced. Why those two figures differ.
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- NEWS RELEASE – Meta makes historic investment in Alberta
- Meta data centre in Alberta to start up ahead of adjacent Greenlight power plant
- Capital Power Enters Long-term Energy Supply Agreement with Meta in Alberta
- AESO Connection Project List, July 2026 (P2936 GLDC Load Phase 1.1, 970 MW)
- AESO Large Load Projects (programme landing page)
Alberta's first gigawatt-scale hyperscale project. 1,750-acre campus, $13B+ investment. Capital Power's separate 250 MW, 10-year-plus supply agreement starts H2 2028; the adjacent 932 MW Greenlight Electricity Centre gas plant is targeted for H2 2030. Meta describes the data centre as online in 'two to three years' from July 2026 without naming a year, so no target date is shown. Capacity is stated at 970 MW, which is the load AESO has on file for P2936, one of only two Phase 1 allocations; press materials describe the campus at a rounded 1 GW. Also tracked in the Alberta Major Projects registry as Meta Data Center (id 12183).
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
- Project North Light Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. · 360 MW · Announced
Last verified 2026-08-01. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com