McCord Investments

Power and industrial equipment sourcing

Send a requirement Requirement

Map / AB

Verified 2026-08-16

Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant)

Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP / Rocky View County, AB — Section 11, Township 23, Range 28, W4M; ~3 km east of Calgary, ~2 km northwest of the Hamlet of Indus

Announced

1.2 GW

announced

0 MW

energized

None of it is drawing power yet.

Not shown on the map. No location has been disclosed for this project beyond Rocky View County, AB — Section 11, Township 23, Range 28, W4M; ~3 km east of Calgary, ~2 km northwest of the Hamlet of Indus. Its megawatts are counted in every total on this site; only the dot is withheld, because placing one would assert a site nobody has stated.


Power path
Behind the fence
Generation tech
1,494 MW natural gas thermal plant (fast-response reciprocating engines plus combined-cycle gas turbines), supplying ~1,200 MW to co-located on-site data halls
Utility
Not stated
Queue reference
AUC Proceeding 30524, Application 30524-A001 (power plant application)
Target online
Not stated
Announced
2025-06-17
Verification
public_filing
Coordinate
Not disclosed

Getting power in Alberta

Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.

The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.

Sources

Before the AUC as Proceeding 30524: a 1,494 MW natural gas thermal plant, fast-response reciprocating engines plus combined-cycle turbines, of which about 1,200 MW would supply co-located on-site data halls. The announced column carries the 1,200 MW of data centre load, not the generating capability. The two are stated separately and never summed. Rocky View County Council approved the Beacon AI Hub Area Structure Plan, about 900 acres, and redesignated the land “Special, Data Centre” on 2025-06-17. The Impact Assessment Agency of Canada decided on 2026-03-10 that no further federal assessment was required. A virtual oral hearing was set to commence 2026-08-18 at 9 a.m.; the AUC listed the application as under review on 2026-08-16. The data centre itself is not under construction. Public records disagree on the applicant and are left as printed: the AUC's Indus page names Heartland Power Generation LP as contact entity, the project is described publicly as Indus Power Generation LP, and the federal registry names Indus Power. No coordinate is published; the AUC gives a legal land description only.

Other tracked projects in Alberta


Last verified 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com

External document

This is hosted by the publisher, not by McCord, and your browser may download it rather than open it in a tab.

Open the document