Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-01
Genesee Data Centre Project
Capital Power / Leduc County, AB (Genesee Generating Station, ~71 km southwest of Edmonton)
In queue
1.5 GW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- 2024-06-26 Filed with the operator 1,500 MW filed
- 2025-07-30 Announced
- No date In service the operator has set no date
- Power path
- Hybrid
- Generation tech
- Co-located with the 1,800 MW Genesee Generating Station, repowered to natural gas combined cycle. CCUS and SMR described as future options.
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- P2942 Genesee Data Center 1 MPC Load (AESO, Wabamun planning area, 1,000 MW DTS, ISD Under Review, applied 2024-06-26); P2946 Genesee Data Center 2 MPC Load (AESO, Wabamun planning area, 500 MW DTS, ISD Under Review, applied 2024-08-08)
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2025-07-30
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 53.3167, -114.3 (region)
Filed with the system operator
What this project has on file with AESO, which is a different act from announcing it. Transcribed from AESO's published connection list.
| Reference | Stage | Filed | In service | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P2942 | [object Object] | 1,000 MW | No date | ISD Under Review |
| P2946 | [object Object] | 500 MW | No date | ISD Under Review |
2 entries totalling 1,500 MW filed, against 1.5 GW announced. Why those two figures differ.
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Capital Power still waiting for Alberta data centre powering opportunity
- Proposed Genesee Data Centre Project Update (Genesee Generating Station Newsletter, Winter 2025)
- AESO Connection Project List, July 2026 (P2942 1,000 MW DTS; P2946 500 MW DTS)
1,500 MW is the sum of the two AESO references filed for this campus, P2942 at 1,000 MW and P2946 at 500 MW, matching Capital Power's own description of a 1.0 to 1.5 GW campus made up of one 1,000 MW and one 500 MW facility. Neither reference is scheduled: both sit in ISD Under Review with no AESO in-service date. Capital Power told Global News in July 2025 that it would not pursue a smaller interim project under AESO's 1,200 MW Phase 1 cap and would wait for a later allocation phase, which is consistent with both references being undated. The 2028 target is the company’s, not the system operator’s. The coordinate is the Genesee Generating Station rather than a disclosed data hall location: Leduc County has given written support and made bylaw changes, but the specific parcel is not public.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
- Project North Light Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. · 360 MW · Announced
Last verified 2026-08-01. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com