Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-16
Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply)
Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) / ~19 km south of Swan Hills, AB
Announced
466 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- Power path
- Behind the fence
- Generation tech
- natural gas combined-cycle (unabated; carbon capture commitment dropped by Teton)
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- Teton states an AESO Cluster 3 filing in April 2026 (developer representation, not independently confirmed). AESO's own project 2499, the Black Bear Combined Cycle Power Plant Project Connection requested by Kiwetinohk, was cancelled.
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2026-04-01
- Verification
- press
- Coordinate
- 54.7106, -115.8106 (region)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- U.S. Developer Tied to Failed Bitcoin Venture Is Proposing Major Alberta Data Centre
- Black Bear Power Plant Project (IAAC federal record)
- AESO — Black Bear Combined Cycle Power Plant Project Connection (2499): Cancellation Notice posted March 30 2026; the Kiwetinohk request for transmission system access “was cancelled on November 7, 2025”
- Teton Digital — Projects page (developer representation: Black Bear “466 MW NGCC”, “Federally and provincially permitted”, “AESO Cluster 3 filed April 2026”, “full 466 MW Q3 2028”)
Originally Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.'s 460 to 466 MW gas plant with carbon capture; the Impact Assessment Agency of Canada decided on 2024-12-23 that a federal assessment was not required. Associated with Teton Digital, LLC from spring 2026. AESO posted a cancellation notice on 2026-03-30 for the Black Bear connection, project 2499, recording that Kiwetinohk's request had been cancelled on 2025-11-07. Developer representations, from Teton's own website: “466 MW NGCC”, “Federally and provincially permitted”, “AESO Cluster 3 filed April 2026”, full output in Q3 2028. None is independently confirmed, and the claimed April 2026 AESO filing is not corroborated by anything AESO publishes; the only AESO record under this project name is the cancelled 2499 connection. The row is held at announced on that basis. On 2026-07-27 DeSmog reported that the current proponent is tied to a collapsed bitcoin venture with an unpaid judgment of roughly US$1.1 million, was a defendant in a 2024 fraudulent-transfer suit in which the court found constructive fraud, and that Kiwetinohk's carbon capture commitments do not appear in Teton's current materials. Recorded as reporting. The 466 MW figure coincidentally matches AESO's unrelated P3095 Keephills Phase 2, a different project at a different location.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
- Project North Light Not disclosed. The project website names no developer, operator or parent company. · 360 MW · Announced
Last verified 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com