Beacon AI Hub, Heartland
Beacon AI Centers / Near Gibbons, Sturgeon County, AB
Filed for connection
800 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
A 920 MW gas plant about 7 km east of Gibbons in Sturgeon County, of which about 800 MW would power on-site data halls. The AUC held a written hearing on the plant that closed in July 2026 and has not ruled. AESO also lists two Beacon Heartland grid load requests of 400 MW each.
- Power path
- Hybrid
- Setup
- 920 MW gas plant of about 200 reciprocating engines
- Utility
- AESO
- Connection request
- AESO P2934 Beacon Heartland A.I. Hub Load (400 MW), P3175 Beacon Heartland Data Load (400 MW)
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- Not stated
Filed with the system operator
From AESO's connection list.
| Reference | Stage | Filed | In service | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| P2934 | EN1 | 400 MW | No date | No date yet |
| P3175 | EN1 | 400 MW | No date | No date yet |
2 entries, 800 MW in total.
Getting power in Alberta
Bring your own generation. The Alberta record covers how projects get power there and what is changing.
Sources
- Beacon AI Centers, Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant application
- Beacon AI Centers Heartland Project
- AESO Connection Project List, October 2026
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Capital Power · 1.5 GW · Filed for connection
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park, Phase 1 O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Wild Rose Data Centre BHE Canada · 1.3 GW · Filed for connection
- Beacon AI Hub, Indus Beacon AI Centers · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Centre, Sturgeon County Meta · 1.0 GW · Construction
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Not approved
- Malachite One Data Centre Emerald Energy Technologies (Tourmaline Oil) · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Mihta Askiy Data Centre Mihta Askiy Datacenter LP (Woodland Cree First Nation) · 650 MW · Announced
Updated 2026-10-14.