Map / ON
Verified 2026-08-01
Validus Power North Bay Data Centre
Validus Power Corp / North Bay, Ontario (mothballed Validus gas-fired power station)
Announced
30 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- Power path
- Behind the fence
- Generation tech
- behind-the-fence natural gas generation, crypto/HPC hosting
- Utility
- Not stated
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2022-11-01
- Verification
- press
- Coordinate
- 46.3091, -79.4608 (town)
Getting power in Ontario
Open door dressed in new gatekeeping: government now picks winners before IESO's technical process even starts.
The full Ontario record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Validus to open second data centre in Northern Ontario
- Validus Power Corp building another cryptomining data center at Northern Ontario power station
Announced only, on press coverage. The most recent source is dated 1 November 2022, so the position may have moved without being reported.
Other tracked projects in Ontario
- Milton Hyperscale Data Centre (proposed, near Halton Hills Generating Station) Logistics Land Investments (TPA Group) · 720 MW · Announced
- Steelport AI Data Centre Campus (former Stelco lands) Slate Asset Management (with Digital Research Alliance of Canada) · 400 MW · Announced
- BUZZ HPC Greater Toronto Area AI Gigafactory BUZZ High Performance Computing Inc. (subsidiary of HIVE Digital Technologies Ltd.) · 320 MW · Announced
- Validus Power Iroquois Falls Data Centre Validus Power Corp · 120 MW · Announced
- Ascent/Related Digital Cambridge Data Centre (17 Vondrau St, TOR1 campus) Ascent Corp / Related Digital / TowerBrook Capital Partners (JV) · 60 MW · Construction
- STACK Infrastructure Toronto Campus (TOR01, 3650 Danforth Ave) STACK Infrastructure · 56 MW · Operating
- Prologis Meadowvale Business Park Data Centre Prologis · 40 MW · Announced
- Compass Datacenters Toronto Campus (75-77 Fima Crescent, Etobicoke) Compass Datacenters · 30 MW · Operating
Last verified 2026-08-01. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com