McCord Investments

Power and industrial equipment sourcing

Send a requirement Requirement

Map / Provinces / ON

Ontario

IESO (Independent Electricity System Operator); Ontario Energy Board regulates rates

Open door dressed in new gatekeeping: government now picks winners before IESO's technical process even starts.

1.7GW

announced in Ontario, not yet operating

13 tracked projects

24MW

energized in Ontario

3 with published capacity

Publishes a project-level list. Yes, Ontario publishes a project-level list, and it is better than most people assume, but it is Not a queue. The artifact is the IESO 'Application Status' page under Connecting to Ontario's Power System. Its own description: 'This list provides the status of all connection proposals (transmission, load, generation and ancillary services) that have submitted a connection application package and executed the required…


The record

Operator detail
Split, and the common "IESO or Hydro One" framing is only half right, it is both, sequentially, plus a third layer that is legally live but not yet operative. 1. IESO, reliability approver. Runs the Connection Assessment and Approval (CAA) process under Market Manual 1.4 and issues the System Impact Assessment (SIA) ending in a "Notification of Conditional Approval" or "Notification of Disapproval with Reasons".
Route to power
For a 100+ MW facility this is a transmission connection. There is no queue to join and no allocation to win, you run two studies in parallel with two counterparties and pay for whatever reinforcement you trigger. Step 0, Siting and pre-consultation. IESO "strongly recommends" a pre-application face-to-face with your consultants, the IESO and the transmitter before filing. Optional Technical Feasibility Study (IESO, cost-recovery, report is confidential and never published) and/or Hydro One Phase 0 Feasibility Study. For distribution-level screening, the OEB's Centralized Capacity Information Map shows LDC headroom. Step 1, Open with Hydro One.
Typical timeline
Two to five years, on the transmitter's own published number, and realistically longer for a greenfield 100+ MW load in a constrained zone. Hydro One, Transmission connection process page: "An average connection can take two to five years to complete.
Binding constraint
There is no Alberta-style cap and no Quebec-style block allocation. Ontario has never set an MW ceiling for data centres, never run an allocation call, and never declared a provincial moratorium. If you are looking for a single number, there isn't one. What binds is five separate things, and right now the sharpest two are legal limbo and municipal land use, not grid capacity per se. 1. Regulatory limbo, the top constraint as of 2026-08-01. Electricity Act s.28.1 has been in force since December 11, 2025 and prohibits connecting a "specified load facility" unless regulatory requirements are met.
Behind the fence
Yes, self-supply is legal and is being actively considered by hyperscalers in Ontario as a way around transmission timelines, but it is a lightly-mapped path, and nothing in 2025-26 was changed specifically to open it. The licensing test. OEB Act s.57(c): no person may generate electricity or provide ancillary services "for sale through the IESO-administered markets or directly to another person" without a generation licence. The trigger is sale, not generation.
Interconnection
IESO does not run a US-style sequential interconnection queue; it uses a 'committed projects' connection assessment and approval process (Market Manual 1.4). Bill 40 (in force 2025-12-11) added section 28.1 to the Electricity Act letting the government designate 'specified load facilities' (data centres meeting prescribed criteria) for prioritized, non-standard connection treatment. IESO is separately layering in new large-computational-load reliability standards through connection assessments in 2026, ahead of formal market rule changes.
Tariff
No dedicated data centre retail tariff exists yet; cost exposure comes through Locational Marginal Pricing (since 2025-05-01), connection asset payments, expansion deposits, and mandatory impact-assessment costs for facilities over 10 MW. The 'specified load facility' approval regime under Bill 40 is still being defined by regulation as of mid-2026.
Years to grid power
3-5
Years behind the fence
n/a, no Ontario party publishes a behind-the-fence timeline for large load
Basis for those years
Grid figure: IESO states the connection process "can take anywhere from a few months for small modifications to existing facilities, to more than three years for major modifications or to connect new facilities", with Stage 2 approval alone typically one year and Stage 3 design and build 18 to 36 months. Hydro One puts an average transmission connection at two to five years. Three to five is the overlap of the operator floor and the transmitter range, both re-read 2026-08-02. Large computational loads sit above this: IESO's technical requirements for them were still in draft at the 2026-07-23 stakeholder webinar, so no timeline for that class is established. BTF figure: not published by any Ontario party.

Dated events

Tracked projects

Project Status Announced Energized Target online
Milton Hyperscale Data Centre (proposed, near Halton Hills Generating Station) Announced 720 MW Not stated 2028
Steelport AI Data Centre Campus (former Stelco lands) Announced 400 MW Not stated Not stated
BUZZ HPC Greater Toronto Area AI Gigafactory Announced 320 MW Not stated 2027-H2
Validus Power Iroquois Falls Data Centre Announced 120 MW Not stated Not stated
Ascent/Related Digital Cambridge Data Centre (17 Vondrau St, TOR1 campus) Construction 60 MW 6 MW Not stated
STACK Infrastructure Toronto Campus (TOR01, 3650 Danforth Ave) Operating 56 MW 8 MW 2026-Q2
Prologis Meadowvale Business Park Data Centre Announced 40 MW Not stated Not stated
Compass Datacenters Toronto Campus (75-77 Fima Crescent, Etobicoke) Operating 30 MW 10 MW Not stated
Validus Power North Bay Data Centre Announced 30 MW Not stated Not stated
Yondr Toronto Data Center (TOR1) Construction 27 MW Not stated 2026-Q2
55H High-Density Colocation Data Centre Operating 20 MW Not stated 2026-H1
Burlington Data Centre (3110 South Service Rd) Announced 20 MW Not stated Not stated
BUZZ HPC Toronto Site (15 City View Drive, Etobicoke) Construction 7 MW Not stated Not stated
Microsoft YTO11 / YTO12 Data Centre Campus Construction Not stated Not stated 2026-H2
Microsoft Etobicoke Data Centre (48 Lowe's Place) Construction Not stated Not stated Not stated
QScale Wilmot Township Data Centre (proposed) Announced Not stated Not stated Not stated

Announced capacity is what the proponent has stated. Energized capacity is what is drawing. They are different figures and are never summed. How the figures reconcile.

Sources

Known gaps. Things Could not establish from public sources I actually fetched. These are real holes, not hedging. 1. No confirmation the s.28.1 regulation has been made. Verified ERO 025-1001 still shows proposal status with no decision section, and July 2026 legal commentary and July 28, 2026 news reporting both say the criteria are unpublished. But I did not read the Ontario Regulations index or the e-Laws source-law table directly, e-Laws requires JavaScript and returned no text to my fetches, and CanLII returned 403. Section 28.1 regulation, checked 2026-08-16. No regulation defining the requirements for a “specified load facility” has been located as filed, on e-Laws or the Environmental Registry. The September 2025 ERO notice, comments closed 2025-11-04, proposed ministerial approval before connection and defined a specified load facility as data centres and other prescribed entities. The government's own Data Centre Playbook document of 2026-08-13 settles the question from the primary side: it applies to data centres “that meet thresholds to be set out in a future regulation under the Electricity Act”, which is the province saying in its own words that the regulation is still to come. The Playbook is therefore not the s.28.1 regulation and must not be described as one. Playbook elements held back, checked against the primary document 2026-08-16. Three items widely reported after the announcement are not recorded on this card because they are not in the government's document. (a) A higher electricity rate for data centres over 1 MW than other industrial users: no 1 MW threshold appears anywhere in the document; it lists a “Separate Electricity Rate Class for Data Centres” as a consultation posting component and describes restricting Industrial Conservation Initiative eligibility and/or a specific data centre rate as an initiative “Under Consideration, Outside of the Playbook”. (b) Closed-loop cooling as an approval condition: closed-loop cooling appears only as an example of minimising environmental impact under Pillar 3, and again in an appendix describing technology. The stronger “prioritizing builds with closed-loop systems” formulation is the Premier's spoken remark at the press conference, not framework text. (c) An exact consultation close date: the document states a 30-day comment period beginning 2026-08-13 and gives no close date, so none is published here. The 2026-08-13 news release page at news.ontario.ca returned no body text to either fetcher on the run date, so the framework document is cited instead of the release. Reported IESO draft technical requirements for large computational loads, said to have been posted 2026-05-14, could not be located on ieso.ca and are not recorded. Independence. All Playbook coverage traces to the single 2026-08-13 announcement; the government's own documents are the confirmation and the outlets supply only the event date. Law-firm insights and their syndicated mirrors count as one source each.


Record updated 2026-08-16. Sources reviewed 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com

External document

This is hosted by the publisher, not by McCord, and your browser may download it rather than open it in a tab.

Open the document