McCord Investments

Power and industrial equipment sourcing

Send a requirement Requirement

Map / Provinces / QC

Quebec

Hydro-Québec; Régie de l'énergie regulates tariffs

Went from selling surplus hydro to data centres to actively pricing and gatekeeping them out.

137MW

announced in Quebec, not yet operating

7 tracked projects

183MW

energized in Quebec

7 with published capacity

Publishes nothing project level. There is no AESO-equivalent. Quebec publishes no connection queue, no interconnection request list, no project numbers, no staged MW, and no in-service dates. Nothing project-level with a capacity figure exists in the public domain. What IS published, and its exact limits: 1) MEIE 'Blocs d'électricité octroyés' table (quebec.ca, page last updated 5 May 2026). Verified 2026-08-02: still no queue of applicants. Québec does, however, publish the authorisations it has already granted. The provincial energy authorisation page lists 30 blocks of power authorised since 2023, roughly 1,500 MW, with company name, location and a project description, plus a further 800 MW across 55 public-interest projects. That is the closest thing Québec has to a project-level disclosure: it shows who got power, never who is waiting for it.


The record

Operator detail
Correction: Hydro-Québec connects, but it does not approve. Hydro-Québec is the vertically integrated utility, Hydro-Québec TransÉnergie owns/operates the ≥44 kV transmission system and does the connection studies; Hydro-Québec Distribution holds the exclusive distribution right and signs the service contract.
Route to power
Concrete path for a 100+ MW data centre in Quebec as of 1 August 2026: Step 0, Siting against published headroom. Check the December 2025 Hydro-Québec zone map. Only five of the 13 targeted zones show ≥100 MW residual transmission capacity without reinforcement: Sept-Îles 150 MW, Chibougamau 120 MW, Baie-Comeau 100 MW, Beauharnois 100 MW, Montréal-Est 100 MW. If no zone fits, you request a paid connection study ("étude de raccordement") from Hydro-Québec, which produces an avant-projet specifying scope, cost and schedule. Step 1, The named process is the "autorisation pour le raccordement d'un projet d'une puissance de 5 MW et plus" (informally, the "bloc d'électricité" process).
Typical timeline
Not publicly stated for a load of this size. Do not infer one. What is actually on the record: - s. 76 of the Régie Act imposes a ministerial decision deadline of 15 Business days from receipt of Hydro-Québec's recommendation Only for requests up to 50 MW concerning a consumer whose establishment is already served by the distributor's network.
Binding constraint
There is no numeric cap and no moratorium. The binding constraint is Discretionary ministerial allocation of a scarce energy balance, compounded by very thin local transmission headroom. It is not comparable to Alberta's 1,200 MW interim cap, it is looser on paper and tighter in practice. Correction to the premise: Quebec has Not run block allocation calls for data centre load. The only block RFP Hydro-Québec has ever run in this space was the 300 MW non-firm block for "cryptographic use applied to blockchains," launched 5 June 2019 following Régie decision of 29 April 2019, crypto mining only, not data centres.
Behind the fence
Yes for pure self-consumption. Heavily restricted for anything else. Bill 69 changed this in 2025. Permitted, self-consumption. Section 60 of the Act respecting the Régie de l'énergie, as amended by Bill 69 s. 52 (in force 7 June 2025), now expressly states: "Ce droit n'empêche pas quiconque de consommer l'électricité qu'il produit." Hydro-Québec's exclusive distribution right does not prevent anyone from consuming electricity they generate. So a data centre may build on-site generation for its own load.
Interconnection
Any project drawing 5 MW or more (50 kW or more for blockchain/crypto) has required ministerial authorization since 2023. Bill 69 (adopted June 2025) expanded government control over electricity allocation. Hydro-Québec has separately proposed to the Régie de l'énergie a dedicated, roughly double-price tariff for data centres.
Tariff
A dedicated data centre tariff (~13 cents/kWh) is filed but not yet approved as of mid-2026; existing data centres get a five-year phase-in. Treat as proposed, not final.
Years to grid power
n/a for uninvited projects; multi-year for approved ones
Years behind the fence
n/a, gas generation is not a realistic substitute in Quebec's hydro-dominant, low-emissions-permitting environment
Basis for those years
Grid figure: government controls entry via 5 MW+ ministerial authorization (2023) and has stated an intent to allocate 1,000 MW to data centres by 2035 (planning horizon, not a connection-time commitment). BTF figure: no active BTF gas pathway for data centres found in sourced material. Verified 2026-08-02 against the provincial authorisation page: the gate is 5 MW and above, the decision is the government's rather than Hydro-Québec's, and it is assessed against seven published criteria including network impact, economic benefit to Québec, greenhouse gas emissions, social acceptability and project maturity. No decision timeline is published.

Dated events

Tracked projects

Project Status Announced Energized Target online
OVHcloud BHS Campus Operating 120 MW Not stated Not stated
QScale Q01 Campus Operating 96 MW Not stated 2022
Vantage Quebec City Campus (QC2, incl. QC21/QC23/QC24) Construction 86 MW Not stated 2027
Gatineau Data Hub (GDH) Not approved 50 MW Not stated Not stated
Bitfarms Sherbrooke – Bunker Operating 48 MW 48 MW Not stated
UnitedCorp Beauharnois data centre / greenhouse project Announced 40 MW Not stated Not stated
eStruxture MTL-2 Operating 30 MW Not stated Not stated
Vantage Montreal III (QC6) Operating 30 MW Not stated Not stated
Bitfarms Sherbrooke – Léger Operating 30 MW 30 MW Not stated
HIVE Digital Technologies Lachute Operating 30 MW 30 MW Not stated
Cologix MTL9-S Operating 25 MW 25 MW Not stated
Bitfarms Baie-Comeau Operating 22 MW 22 MW Not stated
Bitfarms Sherbrooke – Garlock Operating 18 MW 18 MW Not stated
DMTC / Hyper Bit Quebec crypto facility Announced 11 MW Not stated Not stated
Bitfarms Magog Operating 10 MW 10 MW Not stated
Google Beauharnois Data Center Announced Not stated Not stated Not stated
Microsoft Lévis (Charny) Datacentre Construction Not stated Not stated Not stated
Microsoft Donnacona Datacentre Construction Not stated Not stated 2026
Microsoft L'Ancienne-Lorette Datacentre Construction Not stated Not stated 2027

Announced capacity is what the proponent has stated. Energized capacity is what is drawing. They are different figures and are never summed. How the figures reconcile.

Sources

Known gaps. 1. Time to energization is not published. No source states how long a 75+ MW data centre takes from application to energized service in Quebec. The only statutory clock (15 business days) applies solely to requests up to 50 MW at sites already served by the distributor, so it does not cover this class of project at all. MEIE's 2023 statement that decisions issue "quarterly" has not been renewed and the current process page carries no service standard. Could not find Vantage QC4's energization date. Treat any timeline number as unsourced. 2.


Record updated 2026-08-01. Sources reviewed 2026-08-02. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com

External document

This is hosted by the publisher, not by McCord, and your browser may download it rather than open it in a tab.

Open the document