Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-02
Hut 8 Drumheller
Hut 8 Corp. / Drumheller, AB
Operating
42 MW
announced
42 MW
energized
Fully energized against what was announced.
- Power path
- Grid
- Generation tech
- Grid-connected. Bitcoin self-mining site.
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- Not stated
- Verification
- public_filing
- Coordinate
- 51.4636, -112.7194 (town)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
ADDED ON AUDIT (2026-08-02): the site was missing from the dataset entirely. Hut 8 reported in its Q1 2026 10-Q that its Drumheller, Alberta site was reenergized in March 2026 at 42 MW. Its absence understated the national energized total. Added at operating status on a securities filing, the strongest evidence tier. Note it is proof-of-work mining, which raises the crypto share of energized capacity rather than the AI share.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
Last verified 2026-08-02. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com