Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-01
Hut 8 Medicine Hat Facility
Hut 8 Corp / Medicine Hat, AB
Operating
67 MW
announced
67 MW
energized
Fully energized against what was announced.
- Power path
- Grid
- Generation tech
- grid power; sited adjacent to City of Medicine Hat natural gas-fired power plant and wind turbines
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2018-01-01
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 50.0405, -110.6764 (town)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Hut 8 Mining Corp. Adds Additional Capacity to its City of Medicine Hat Facility
- Bitcoin mining uses so much electricity that 1 city could curtail facility's power during heat waves
- Hut 8 corporate site -- current facility list (live-fetched, confirms 67MW Medicine Hat still listed)
Operating since 2018, beside the City of Medicine Hat’s gas plant and wind turbines, drawing municipal grid power. Hut 8’s own corporate site still lists a 67 MW Medicine Hat facility. Address per the operator: 5254 Box Springs Rd NW, Medicine Hat. A town-level coordinate is used rather than a geocoded address.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
Last verified 2026-08-01. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com