Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-01
Rocky View County Data Centre / Technology Park (Kineticor ASP)
Kineticor Asset Management (proponent); eStruxture (named partner) / Rocky View County, AB (northeast quadrant, near Delacour/Balzac area)
Not approved
0 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
- Power path
- Grid
- Generation tech
- Not stated
- Utility
- AESO
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2025-04-01
- Verification
- multiple
- Coordinate
- 51.2917, -113.9861 (region)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Alberta wants to become an AI data centre hub, but this rural county just rejected a big proposal
- Rocky View County blocks 1,100-acre data centre campus plan
Rejected. Rocky View County council voted down the Kineticor Area Structure Plan and redesignation bylaws on 10 September 2025, citing agricultural land impact; the 6-1 vote count is per CBC. AESO’s P3116 Rocky View Data Center MPC Load, 800 MW, undated in ISD Under Review and applied 2025-05-21, remains active on the July 2026 list, but has not been confirmed as the same proponent.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
Last verified 2026-08-01. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com