Map / AB
Verified 2026-08-16
Northern Forge Power Project (data centre power supply)
Teton Digital LLC / ~35 km south of Fox Creek, AB
Announced
200 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
- 2026-07-14 Announced
- 2028 Developer target stated by the developer, not a filed date
- Power path
- Behind the fence
- Generation tech
- natural gas power plant
- Utility
- Not stated
- Queue reference
- Not stated
- Target online
- 2028
- Announced
- 2026-07-14
- Verification
- press
- Coordinate
- 54.0897, -116.7856 (region)
Getting power in Alberta
Courting load loudly while the near-term connection queue is already spoken for.
The full Alberta record, with the route to power, the binding constraint and every dated policy event.
Sources
- Power generation facilities planned for Swan Hills and Fox Creek regions
- Teton Digital — Projects page (developer representation: Northern Forge “200 MW behind-the-meter gas-to-compute, 155-acre site”, “Permits largely in hand — EPEA, Water Act, and Indigenous consultation complete; AUC under evaluation”, “30 MW H1 2027 · 100 MW+ YE 2027 · 200 MW 2028”)
$500M cost, targeted for completion in 2028. Held at announced: the sole independent source is xm105fm.com, which itself cites the Alberta Major Projects Dashboard rather than a filing. The coordinate is derived from the stated placement roughly 35 km south of Fox Creek rather than from a disclosed site. Developer representations, from Teton's own website: “200 MW behind-the-meter gas-to-compute” on a 155-acre site, permits “largely in hand” with the AUC “under evaluation”, and a staged target of 30 MW in H1 2027, 100 MW+ by end of 2027 and 200 MW in 2028. None is independently confirmed. No AUC proceeding number has been identified, so “AUC under evaluation” is a representation, not a filing. Companion record: Black Bear, same proponent.
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Project Capital Power · 1.5 GW · In queue
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park (Phase 1) O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub — Indus (with Indus Project Thermal Power Plant) Beacon AI Centers / Indus Power Generation LP · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Center (Sturgeon County) Meta Platforms Inc. · 970 MW · In queue
- Beacon AI Centers — Heartland Project Thermal Power Plant Heartland Power Generation LP (Beacon AI Centers) · 800 MW · Announced
- Black Bear Power Project (data centre power supply) Teton Digital LLC (formerly Kiwetinohk Energy Corp.) · 466 MW · Announced
- Beacon AI Data Centre Hub - Chestermere Beacon Data Centres (Beacon AI) · 400 MW · In queue
Last verified 2026-08-16. Corrections: sam@mccordinvestments.com