TNE and Data District Data Centres, Phase 1
Technologies New Energy and Data District / Olds, Calgary, Edmonton and Bonnyville, AB
Announced
240 MW
announced
0 MW
energized
None of it is drawing power yet.
Four facilities, at Olds, Calgary, Edmonton and Bonnyville, with a combined budget of $1.26B and 240 MW in total, and no split between the sites published. TNE says it will power them mostly from its own modular gas plants and batteries, with some power from the grid. Olds is first, and Bonnyville is due to start construction in 2027.
Not shown on the map. No location has been disclosed for this project beyond Olds, Calgary, Edmonton and Bonnyville, AB. Its megawatts are counted in every total on this site; only the dot is withheld, because placing one would assert a site nobody has stated.
- Power path
- Hybrid
- Setup
- TNE modular gas plants and batteries, plus some grid power
- Utility
- AESO; FortisAlberta in Olds
- Connection request
- Not stated
- Target online
- Not stated
- Announced
- 2025-12-01
Getting power in Alberta
Bring your own generation. The Alberta record covers how projects get power there and what is changing.
Sources
- Technologies New Energy & Data District Data Centres
- Strategic Agreement Signed with Data District Inc. to Develop 1GW of AI-Optimised Data Centre Capacity in Alberta, Canada
- Data centre announced for Olds
Other tracked projects in Alberta
- Genesee Data Centre Capital Power · 1.5 GW · Filed for connection
- Wonder Valley AI Data Centre Park, Phase 1 O'Leary Ventures · 1.4 GW · Announced
- Wild Rose Data Centre BHE Canada · 1.3 GW · Filed for connection
- Beacon AI Hub, Indus Beacon AI Centers · 1.2 GW · Announced
- Meta Data Centre, Sturgeon County Meta · 1.0 GW · Construction
- Synapse Olds Data Centre Synapse Data Center Inc. · 1.0 GW · Not approved
- Malachite One Data Centre Emerald Energy Technologies (Tourmaline Oil) · 1.0 GW · Announced
- Beacon AI Hub, Heartland Beacon AI Centers · 800 MW · Filed for connection
Updated 2026-10-14.